From Adam to Muhammad (peace be upon them all)

I was shocked to read a comment from a non-Muslim saying “How many sermons have you listened to chastising Christ and Moses? A few I’ll bet.” I don’t blame him at all for saying this statement. Why? Many non-Muslims don’t realize that we respect the Messengers of God from the past from Adam (peace be upon him) to Muhammad (peace be upon him) and everyone between them (peace be upon them all). It is forbidden to mock, disrespect or ridicule any of them.

So here is a list of all the Prophets that Islam respects and loves:

  1. Adam آدم
  2. Idris (Enoch) ادريس
  3. Nuh (Noah) نوح
  4. Hud (Eber) هود
  5. Saleh (Shelah) صالح
  6. Ibrahim (Abraham) إبراهيم
  7. Lut (Lot) لوط
  8. Ismail (Ishmael) اسماعيل
  9. Ishaq (Isaac) اسحاق
  10. Yaqub (Jacob) يعقوب
  11. Yusuf (Joseph) يوسف
  12. Ayub (Job) أيوب
  13. Shoaib (Jethro) شعيب
  14. Musa (Moses) موسى
  15. Harun (Aaron) هارون
  16. Dhul-Kifl (most likely Ezekiel) ذو الكفل
  17. Dawood (David) داوود
  18. Sulayman (Solomon) سليمان
  19. Ilyas (Elijah) إلياس
  20. Al-Yasa (Elisha) اليسع
  21. Yunus (Jonah) يونس
  22. Zakariya (Zacharias) زكريا
  23. Yahya (John the Baptist) يحيى
  24. Isa (Jesus) عيسى
  25. Muhammad محمّد

Peace be upon them all.

As you can see there are 25 named Prophets from the Qur’an, but in Islam we believe that there are many more that we don’t know about. In fact there are over hundreds of thousands of Messengers of God that were sent down to guide the people of the past, we just don’t know exactly who. Famous people of the past like Confucius, Buddha, Zoraster and others could have been Messengers of God, but no one knows for sure.

Why do Muslims emphasize so much about Muhammad (peace be upon him)? Muhammad (peace be upon him) was the last and final messenger. That’s why. It’s a core beilef of the declaration of faith or the shahada: “There is no god but Allah and Muhamamd is his messenger”.

4 Replies to “From Adam to Muhammad (peace be upon them all)”

  1. What is also interesting, is that more than half of the 25 Prophets that we are obligated to believe in are HEBREW. This is part of our Aqeedah (faith), we cannot deny this, or our faith is corrupted.

  2. What is also interesting is that more than half of the 25 Prophets that we are obligated to believe in are HEBREW. This is part of our Aqeedah (faith), if we deny this, our faith is corrupted.

  3. I am confused by what he is trying to say. “HEBREW” is present day in reference to the language (which is quite different from classical Hebrew). The name though does come from the people, ie the Hebrews, which most people refer to via their religous affiliation, the Jews. Quite right, the prophets were from the nation of Hebrews, more specifically from the sons of Jacob (Ya’qub), who was also known as Israeel, hence we get the tribes of Isreal. I am not sure what the purpose of the top two statements were, but heres a clarification in case someone was wondering…

Comments are closed.