The End - 2000 to 2009

Doritos and Cheetos are ….sniff….tear…. not halal!

  • Author: MR
  • Filed under: General, Islam
  • Date: Mar 29,2007 | 01:45 AM


aamina and I had called like two weeks ago and were totally blown :(
and then to confirm what we had already known, we recieved this email:
here’s the forward:

Dear Friends:

I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but this weekend my little niece, Haniya, told me that her friends had called Frito-Lay and found out that Doritos have pork in them. Well, I was shocked and a little skeptical. However, when I called the company, they confirmed that their cheese products were not halal — they actually used the term “halal”, which I found impressive even though the disclosure was disconcerting. She said they use enzymes in making the cheese for their cheetos and doritos that come from pork. I asked when they started doing this, and she said the last 2 years they became aware of it. I wanted to start a petition requesting them to find alternatives, but she said it would be best for individuals to call, because each call is registered. So, if you are going to miss cheetos and doritos as much as I am, please call Frito-Lay at 1-800-352-4477, Monday – Friday, 9:00am-4:30pm. Also, pass on this info. to whomever you know.


Source: Haleema Faatima Yahya’s Facebook Note

Today is a sad day. A sad day indeed. Doritos and Cheetos are officially not halal.

More evidence:


CHEETOS® Bacon Cheddar on Cheese Flavored Crackers (pork)

DORITOS® Salsa Verde Flavored Tortilla Chips (chicken)


SUNCHIPS® French Onion Flavored Multigrain Snacks (beef)


Source: Frito Lay Products Containing Animal Related Ingredients

  • RSS feed for comments on this post

  • 74 Responses for "Doritos and Cheetos are ….sniff….tear…. not halal!"

    1. Falala March 31st, 2008 at 6:28 pm

      I LOVEddddd hot cheetoss but i hate them now cuz i heard that they are haram cuz my friend just told me they are haram and she showed me the prooffffff i hate themmm…

    2. Meya March 31st, 2008 at 6:31 pm

      wait buttt ummm how can we be so sure that cheetos and doritos and everything is NOT HALAL cuz we havent seen any 1 make em tho….. SOO ARE THEY HALAL OR NOT

    3. Im a Helperr March 31st, 2008 at 6:47 pm ………….. if you go on this LINK u can pikk the cheetos things that u eat and den if u look at the ingridents it says CHEDDAR CHEESE which is my question IS CHEDDAR CHEESE HALAL OR NOT CUZ SOMETIMES PEOPLE SAY ITS MADE OUT OF PIGS…buttttt in the ingridents it says Cheddar Cheese and den in prenthasees it says (Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes.) according to that i think it meansss that WE COULD EAT ”’SOME OF THE CHEETOS THAT WE SEE IN STORE”’ soo my tipp for every one iss if you wana buy cheetos doritos or anything i tink u shuld first look at the ingredents if it says CHEDDAR CHEESE on ir i suggest u to looook closer and see if it says anything in ” (….) ” if not then its probably HARAM for u

    4. Im a Helperr March 31st, 2008 at 6:49 pm

      and anotherrr thingg if u dont see cheddar cheese anywhere then ur good to go u can take it cuz mostly people say cheddar cheese is harrammm…

    5. Huss April 16th, 2008 at 7:01 pm

      salam anna isme hsan

      wala i didnt know that but i called and made sure.did u guys know that tootsie roles r not halal

    6. Sydmed July 19th, 2008 at 9:24 am

      How many of you would be interested in buying Halal version of Cheetos/Doritos? Generic brand but as good as original Cheetos/Doritos. Anyone?

    7. anna August 17th, 2008 at 2:49 am

      salaams, i heard that frito lays change their ingredients every six monthes? so i am really at a loss, i’ve been attending islamic school for quite awhile now, at my school they used sell it in 2006, but then someone said it was haram, so the school called to verify it, and they said it was halal, then last year again some said it was haram so again a phone call was made and they said its haram, our school was dumbfounded, so we asked that a year ago we called and you lot said it has no meat ingredients,( the thing is i beleive is that their cheese is halal but one of the ingreident has is made using some part of a pig) and thats when we found out that they change their ingredients change every six monthes. sp yeah if there is any nswa of cheetos being halal please please contact me, i seriously LOVE cheetos.

    8. A.B November 11th, 2008 at 6:56 pm

      EWWWWW… Every time i close my eyes i either see a doritos bag or a pig. EWWWWWWWWWWWW

    9. crzyhuda December 12th, 2008 at 2:38 pm


      For Your Health

      Seasoned Products Made Without Porcine (PORK) Enzymes
      Products Made and Distributed in the U.S.

      Last Updated November 12, 2008

      BAKED! CHEETOS® Crunchy Cheese Flavored Snacks
      BAKED LAY’S® Barbecue Flavored Potato Crisps
      CHEETOS® Asteroids 100 Calorie Mini Bites Cheese Flavored Snacks
      CHEETOS® Asteroids Mini Bites Cheese Flavored Snacks
      CHEETOS® Chile Limon Flavored Snacks
      CHEETOS® Crunchy Cheese Flavored Snacks
      CHEETOS® Crunchy Cheesy Cheddar BBQ Cheese Flavored Snacks
      CHEETOS® Crunchy Mozzarella Cheese Flavored Snacks
      CHEETOS® Crunchy Wild White Cheddar Cheese Flavored Snacks
      CHEETOS® Natural White Cheddar Puffs Cheese Flavored Snacks
      CHEETOS® Puffs Cheese Flavored Snacks
      CHEETOS® Twisted Cheese Flavored Snacks
      DORITOS® Collisions Hot Wings and Blue Cheese Flavored Tortilla Chips
      DORITOS® Collisions Pizza Cravers & Ranch Flavored Tortilla Chips
      DORITOS® Collisions Zesty Taco and Chipotle Ranch Flavored Tortilla Chips
      DORITOS® COOL RANCH® Flavored Tortilla Chips
      DORITOS® Jalapeno Cheese! on Golden Toast Flavored Crackers
      DORITOS® Salsa Verde Flavored Tortilla Chips
      DORITOS® Spicy Sweet Chili Flavored Tortilla Chips
      FLAT EARTH® Tangy Tomato Ranch Flavored Baked Veggie Crisps
      FRITO-LAY® BBQ Sunflower Seeds
      FRITO-LAY® Flamin’ Hot Sunflower Seeds
      FRITO-LAY® French Onion Dip
      FRITO-LAY® Sunflower Seeds
      FRITOS® Bar-B-Q Flavored Corn Chips
      FRITOS® Bean Dip
      FRITOS® Chili Cheese Flavored Corn Chips
      FRITOS® Flavor Twists Honey BBQ Flavored Corn Chips
      FRITOS® Hot Bean Dip with Jalapeno Peppers
      FRITOS® Mild Cheddar Flavor Cheese Dip
      FRITOS® Spicy Jalapeno Flavored Corn Chips
      FUNYUNS® Flamin Hot
      FUNYUNS® Onion Flavored Rings
      LAY’S® Barbecue Flavor Potato Chips
      LAY’S® Cheddar & Sour Cream Artificially Flavored Potato Chips
      LAY’S® Chile Limon Potato Chips
      LAY’S® Cracker Crisps Zesty Herb & Parmesan Flavored Baked Snack Crackers
      LAY’S® Flamin’ Hot Flavor Potato Chips
      LAY’S® Hot & Spicy Barbecue Flavored Potato Chips
      LAY’S® Kettle Cooked Jalapeno Potato Chips
      LAY’S® Kettle Cooked Mesquite BBQ Potato Chips
      LAY’S® Kettle Cooked Sea Salt & Vinegar Potato Chips
      LAY’S® Kettle Cooked Sweet Chili & Sour Cream Flavored Potato Chips
      LAY’S® Limon Flavored Potato Chips
      LAY’S® Natural Country BBQ Thick Cut Potato Chips
      LAY’S® Sour Cream & Onion Artificially Flavored Potato Chips
      LAY’S® STAX® Hot’n Spicy Barbecue Flavored Potato Crisps
      LAY’S® STAX® Mesquite Barbecue Flavored Potato Crisps
      LAY’S® STAX® Ranch Flavored Potato Crisps
      LAY’S® STAX® Salt & Vinegar Flavored Potato Crisps
      LAY’S® STAX® Sour Cream & Onion Flavored Potato Crisps
      LAY’S® Wavy Hickory BBQ Flavored Potato Chips
      LAY’S® Wavy Ranch Flavored Potato Chips
      MAUI Style Onion Flavored Potato Chips
      MAUI Style Salt & Vinegar Flavored Potato Chips
      MISS VICKIE’S® Country Onion with 3 Cheeses Kettle Cooked Potato Chips
      MISS VICKIE’S® Creamy Buttermilk Ranch Kettle Cooked Flavored Potato Chips
      MISS VICKIE’S® Hand Picked Jalapeno Kettle Cooked Flavored Potato Chips
      MISS VICKIE’S® Salty Sweet Kettle Corn
      MISS VICKIE’S® Sea Salt & Vinegar Kettle Cooked Flavored Potato Chips
      MISS VICKIE’S® Smokehouse BBQ Kettle Cooked Flavored Potato Chips
      ROLD GOLD® Butter Flavored Checkers Pretzels
      ROLD GOLD® Cinnamon Braided Twists
      ROLD GOLD® Garlic Braided Twists
      ROLD GOLD® Honey Mustard Tiny Twist Pretzels
      ROLD GOLD® Honey Wheat Braided Twists
      RUFFLES® Authentic Barbecue Flavored Potato Chips
      RUFFLES® Cheddar & Sour Cream Flavored Potato Chips
      RUFFLES® Sour Cream & Onion Flavored Potato Chips
      SABRITAS® Picante Peanuts
      SABRITAS® Salt & Lime Peanuts
      SABRITONES® Chile & Lime Puffed Wheat Snacks
      SMARTFOOD® White Cheddar Cheese Flavored Popcorn
      SUNCHIPS® French Onion Flavor Multigrain Snacks
      SUNCHIPS® Garden Salsa Flavor Multigrain Snacks
      TOSTITOS® All Natural Hot Chunky Salsa
      TOSTITOS® All Natural Medium Chunky Salsa
      TOSTITOS® All Natural Mild Chunky Salsa
      TOSTITOS® All Natural Medium Black Bean & Corn Salsa
      TOSTITOS® All Natural Medium Picante Sauce
      TOSTITOS® All Natural Mild Picante Sauce
      TOSTITOS® All Natural Medium Pineapple & Peach Salsa
      TOSTITOS® Creamy Salsa
      TOSTITOS® Creamy Spinach Flavored Dip
      TOSTITOS® Flour Tortilla Chips
      TOSTITOS® Monterey Jack Queso Dip
      TOSTITOS® Restaurant Style with a Hint of Lime Tortilla Chips
      TOSTITOS® Spicy Nacho Dip
      TRUE NORTH® Almonds Pistachios Walnuts Pecans

      We make every effort to maintain this list to the best of our knowledge. All Frito-Lay products are labeled accurately with the most current ingredient information. Ingredients and their components are subject to change at any time. We maintain this list to assist our consumers in making snack choices. We recommend that you access the most current list at, or contact Frito-Lay Consumer Affairs toll-free at 1-800-352-4477 Monday through Friday between 9:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Central Standard Time for any updates.

    10. usa January 7th, 2009 at 6:45 pm

      u guys r dumb!!!! no pork in this enzymes are from cow rennet. only 1 that could be pork rennet is french onion suns chips

    11. usa January 7th, 2009 at 6:47 pm

      also dont believe everything u read on the internet people just b/c one site ran by some 11yr old says its haram doesn’t mean it is.

    12. usa January 7th, 2009 at 6:50 pm

      1 more thing a lot of things have pig in them for example a lot of soaps use lard from PIGS. Does that mean you’ll never use soap again and just stink up the place???? I dont think so. 😉

    13. zamirrustom January 12th, 2009 at 12:22 pm

      I just spoke to the fruito Lay rep and she directed me to this site which lists all the products – NOT MADE from pork:

      Cheetos Crunchy Cheese specifically does not contain even enzymes from a pig. Its on their web site:

      So decide for yourself.

    14. ananomez January 12th, 2009 at 4:50 pm




    15. Saby March 19th, 2009 at 7:39 pm

      LOL!!! Dont ya dare make me laugh. I knew for a while that Doritos and Cheetos had porkcine emzymes. But Sunchips!!!!! and the french onion kind. OMG I didnt know. What of about Funyuns??? There onion flavored 2. HELP ME HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    16. Easy March 20th, 2009 at 2:59 am

      dude pork enzymes, get a grip that’s NOT PORK.

    17. Akhira March 21st, 2009 at 6:28 am

      all you people are haram

      oh shit

      that end it their

    18. Peace March 21st, 2009 at 2:04 pm

      Thank God, I haven’t tasted Doritos and Cheetos for 20 years because I was very inquisitive about the taste and the smell. I eat healthy but my cheat cheat food is Bar-B-Q Fritos Corn Chips.

      I am literally disgusted that Chicago doesn’t have Bar-B-Q Fritos Corn Chips, a product that’s Halal and Kosher. They have them in towns of IL that’s 50 miles from Chicago. That’s a slap in face because Chicago and New York are the biggest Halal population in the U.S. What needs to be done to bring Bar-B-Q Fritos in Chicago? How do we inform all the Halal businesses about the Hala products?

    19. MiMi April 13th, 2009 at 3:41 am

      soooo . . . “enzymes” is pork meat? is that what ur’re saying???? when and how does that happen???

      did you ask a scholar about the “enzymes”? i bet u didn’t and now ur’re spreading ur opinion about “enzymes is meat” thinking all over the web!

    20. anonymous April 13th, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    21. faiza April 29th, 2009 at 9:59 pm

      i want cheeetossssssssssssssssssssss i havent had any for 4 years :( :( :(

    22. To Mujahideenryder May 1st, 2009 at 3:39 pm

      I am responding to the comment Peace made March 21st, 2009 at 2:04pm, to crzyhuda made December 12, 2008 at 2:38pm, and this webpage. I went to talk to the big grocery stores to request a product that’s both Kosher & Halal like Bar-B-Q friots Corn Chips and the big grocery stores foward it to their buyers.

      This low class, prejorative and anti-semite Regional Manager of Frito Lays mentions regionals make the decision to send what products get sent to anywhere else. The regional Manager doesn’t want to get the Bar-B-Q Fritos that’s Halal & Kosher. This Regional Manager is giving the wrong impression of reprsenting Frito-Lay and ought to be terminated.

      People we can’t be eating non-halal chips, there is a pig flu that’s being spreaded and we need request the Frito Lay Halal & Kosher products in all the communities. We will save a lot of people’s lives from the pig flu spread. To take action on the regional Managers comment, We need to write a letter to be mailed and certified to the President and CEO of Frito Lay

      Attention To: CEO Albert P. Carey
      PO Box 660634
      Dallas TX 75266-6234

    23. Cool20 May 2nd, 2009 at 2:38 am

      Enzymes from a pig. ewww :)

    24. JustMe October 17th, 2009 at 4:11 pm

      Salaam u’alaikoem brothers and sisters,

      It dont mean if they use chicken that its halal. How did this animal died?
      Did it died in the name of Allah? This is also important to know. Be carefull and and also remember that we live in a time of fitna, big lies and deception.. (Dadjaal system) Saytan said he will attack us from left, right, etc. So also with food and other things. Know what you’re eating.
      Eat fresh fruit, make your own cookies drink water etc
      Even Apple juice is not halal.

      Here is a site insjallah it will benefit you all. You also can sent them a question if you have one.

Your Ad Here

MRecent Talk

MRecent Posts





Recent comments